Style Goals

I wrote a piece about Style back in Feb 2015 — (sidenote: can you believe a whole TWO years ago!?)  — where I basically spoke about how intrigued I was with fashion and style, but never really got beyond writing posts about Fashion and Style apart from my occasional haul every few months.

This year, I want to change that. Fashion is a topic which I love. I love the variety within fashion, from high street to high end, fast fashion to staple pieces, finding you through clothes, accessories and beauty items is so exciting. I love how loud and extreme you can make an outfit but equally, how you can create a super minimalistic outfit too.

I’m lucky enough to be friends with some of the most fashionable people I know so fashion is a common conversation subject amongst my friends and I. I want to share these conversations with you guys. I want to share my thoughts and opinion on the latest trends, I want to review beauty products, which I have been accumulating quite a bit. I want to take my blog back to where it was originally going to go — a balance between personal, engaging stories about myself and about my life, but also blogposts which are a bit more lighthearted.

Don’t get me wrong! I love curating these longer, essay style pieces which you get to hear… well, my rants quite frankly lol, my personal stories and my opinion about issues which can affect people all over the world, I do want to inject some fun back into this blog.

So begin this new era, I thought it would be appropriate to do a goals list. I have been in a bit of a rut with my style lately. I’ve recently just chucked out a huge two full black big bins of clothes so I’m trying to build my wardrobe again.

  1. Try not to wear black – My wardrobe for the last 5 years has been black. I love wearing black so much. Not only is it a slimming colour, but I think it is a colour which is easy to dress, everything goes with black — all the accessories I own, all the shoes I own, all the bags I own. It’s a colour I never have to think twice about, which is super lazy. So whilst revamping my wardrobe, I’m going to try my hardest to add some colour into my life.
  2. Invest, rather than fast fashion – Fast fashion has always suited me because I am quite fickle. After a few wears of a top or a dress, I get bored and want to try a different trend or different style. I admit, I shamefully buy way too much clothes and really don’t get enough wear out of each item. Now, because I have my own income, I have learnt the importance of money and how hard money is to earn, which is why I don’t really purchase fast fashion items. I’d rather buy something of better quality that I know I will like and will still want to wear in a years time. I try to get my ‘cost per wear’ out of items. Accessories are items which I would much rather spend a little bit more money on – shoes, bags etc. I really do appreciate quality verse quantity here. Items like jewellery is something that I HAVE to spend more money on because I am allergic to cheap metal. I also hated that I would spend £14 on a ring in Topshop for it to only go green two days later. Buying better quality items prevent this and you save much more money in the long run!
  3. Trends – I have learnt just because there is a trend doesn’t mean I should follow it. Last year, dungarees were very in fashion. I, of course, bought one. I look quite young for my age already, I am the only person out of my friends to always get ID’d when we go to a bar. Wearing dungarees did not help. It made me look like I was 15/16 years old. I have learnt to dress for the body shape (and face!) that I have rather than following trends that may not suit me.

I cannot wait to see what Spring/Summer brings for us. I am going to try and stick to my goals. I am going to try and create much more fashion based content so stay tuned (:

Writing Spaces:
Bright Shiny News ➵ http://www.brightshinynews.com/author/jessicalam
My Trending Stories ➵ http://www.mytrendingstories.com/profile/jessica-lam
The Buddha Belly ➵ http://jessicaybl.wixsite.com/thebuddhabelly
HelloGiggles ➵  http://www.hellogiggles.com/author/jessica-lam

Social Media:
Instagram ➵ http://www.instagram.com/_jessicaybl
Tumblr ➵ http://www.jessicaybl.tumblr.com
Twitter ➵ http://www.twitter.com/_jessicaybl

Image from Google Search.

Leave a Reply

