Lateness.

One of my pet peeves is when people are late.

I really don’t understand how people are so unorganised that they are unable to stick to a time schedule. I personally feel so guilty when I’m literally 5 minutes late, and I do apologise profusely if I ever happen to be late, so I don’t understand how people can make others wait for them for over half an hour, an hour plus. It’s rude. It’s inconsiderate. And the world does not revolves around your time schedule. Even if I try to be late, I’ll still be first, even though I’m actually late… does that make sense?

For me, when if you say “Meet at 2pm” or 4pm or 6.30pm, whatever the time you set, I expect you to be there at the time agreed, give or take 10-15 minutes grace time because we all know that public transport, especially in London is super unreliable. As I’ve said, obviously, sometimes you can’t help it if you’re late, perhaps traffic, etc. and if it’s a one off, I totally get that. But when people are consistently late, to the point where almost every time you meet up them, they’re late, then that’s when it really really annoys me. That’s when they’re taking the piss out of your generosity.
“Not gonna make it on time, I’ll be 30 mins late.”
“Yeah, same.”
“Me too.”
So if the first person didn’t say anything, would the other two have? Is it a case of “Great, So-and-so has bought me some more time, now I won’t get blamed”? Would they have left me waiting without even telling me they were running late for even longer and make me look like a bigger dick than I already looked like? Everyone has a phone, so there’s no excuse of not knowing the time. There are many ways to make sure you are on time – use your initiative and set a bloody alarm on your phone if you’re seriously that bad at time management.

What makes it worse is that these are the people who will literally be chilling at home all day before that meeting time, so there’s really no excuse for them in taking so long to get ready. You know yourself, you know how long it takes yourself to get ready so use your initiative and get ready sooner. What annoys me further is when they text you saying, “Still getting ready, might be late” but they’re actually on Facebook sharing videos or posting Snapchats. Okay, so you have time to browse on social media but you can’t hurry up and get your arse out of the door?

People use the excuse, “Oh I’m a student, I have no sense of time, I’m lazy, I have poor time management skills blah blah blah” but being young, being a student is no excuse. Instead of stating the obvious every single time you’re late, why don’t you actually try to change and make some effort to actually turn up on time? When you get into the working world, being late means you’ll be fired from your job. I don’t understand how just because you’re “friends” means that you’re not important enough to make sure you stay on time. No, I think that being on time for your friends and family is just as important as making sure you’re on time for work.

I’m not saying it’s more excusable in the summer, because it’s totally unacceptable, regardless the day, the time, the season, but waiting for a group of people for over an hour in the Winter cold here in the UK, when it’s pissing down with rain, when it’s windy as hell, and when it’s absolutely freezing cold is not fun at all. I bet you all wouldn’t survive 10 minutes waiting for me if I treated you all the exact way you treat others.

I know from personal experience, when people say a certain time, add at least 45 minutes onto that time. And even then, that’s not the time they’ll be at the destination. That’s the time they’ll leave their home. It’s ridiculous. I honestly think that people who are late constantly, need to get a grip because I’m tired of wasting my time, waiting around for you all. I would advise that if you are someone who constantly is late, who lets their friends down, who makes their friends wait all day for them, then you really need to take a good look at yourself, because one day, they will no longer wait for you.

X

WHERE ELSE TO FIND ME:
Instagram ➵ http://www.instagram.com/_jessicaybl
Tumblr ➵ http://www.jessicaybl.tumblr.com
Twitter ➵ http://www.twitter.com/_jessicaybl

Pretty please check out my articles with Bright Shiny News, I would be very, very grateful: http://www.brightshinynews.com/author/jessicalam

4 Comments Add yours

  1. K says:

    I get your frustration! I hate it when people are late and it’s even worse when they apologise but then they carry on the same way the next time and don’t learn their lesson!

    1. jessicaybl says:

      Exactly, I agree with you!

  2. I feel your pain Jessica

    1. jessicaybl says:

      Haha thanks!

Leave a Reply

