New Autumn Purchases.

This week for me was Reading Week, which technically means a week off to catch up with reading and essays and stuff. However, me being me, I couldn’t resist taking advantage of my week off to do a little bit of shopping. Obviously, this was a ridiculously bad idea for my purse because I spent too much of my money! But, with it being Autumn, I wanted to get some clothes and accessories which I could layer and sort of mix and match because it’s really getting cold here in London, so layers are essential! I didn’t want to get your standard jumpers because although they’re cosy and easy to wear and style, I feel like they’re almost toooooo easy. It takes little to no effort and I really want to start making more of an effort in my style so I tried my best to steer away from them this shopping trip. I thought I would share with you some of the things I’ve purchased in the past week or  so which I hope you enjoy!

image-2

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Vera – £24
This is a spontaneous buy. I actually went in to get a pump for my NARS Sheer Glow foundation, but my friend showed me this colour and I fell in love. If you’ve read my previous post, you’ll know that I’m into the berry and the dark nudes for autumn so this was right up my street. ‘Vera’ is a sort of dark raspberry colour – it’s more dark pink than red. What I really like about this lipstick is the lasting power, it literally will last you all night. I’ve never splurged on lipstick before, but after trying this one, I think if you have the budget, definitely give NARS lippys a try because it’s a really good lipstick. It last for ages and the application is easy – it’s nice and smooth and doesn’t dry out the lips.

Primark Camel Button Down Skirt – £10
For me, Primark is always a hit or a miss. Some days, I can go into a Primark store and easily spend over like £50 in one go, and then there are times when I’ll go in and come out empty handed. I went into Primark and found this skirt. Recently, I have been really trying to up my fashion game, and am really into skirts, particularly the button down skirts. I have been looking for a skirt in this colour for ages. I found some in other stores, but I couldn’t really justify spending like £36 on a skirt in a colour that I wasn’t sure I was going to wear that often. I feel like this colour is really seasonal, like it’s only okay to wear in autumn/winter time hence why I didn’t splurge out. As it is from Primark, I cannot give you a direct link, but I’m sure your local Primark will still have it in store as I recently bought this.

Topshop Frilla Lace Up Shoes – £25
I feel like with these shoes, you’re either going to love it or you’re going to hate them. I literally just showed my friend these shoes and she whatsapped me back saying, “They’re okay, but they’re a bit boyish” – you know when a friend says ‘They’re okay’, she secretly wants to say, “Nah, don’t like them.” Nevertheless, I love them. I don’t know why I love them so much, I normally never ever wear shoes like these, but I think they look super smart and go well with black jeans and skirts. I think they’re a super good alternative to your class ballet flats – it gives your outfit a bit more personality and edge – and they’re a bit more sturdy and durable than your average flats too. I can’t see to find the link on the Topshop site anymore, sorry.. but there are other similar shoes you can check out.

Topshop Super-Soft Scarf in Gret Marl – £16
The name of this scarf is true. It is soooooooo soft. I love scarves, I own too many but I think they’re a great accessory not only to keep you warm, but add a bit of colour and layer to an outfit. I wear a lot of black, so if I did wear a full black outfit, (I’m talking the whole package –  black jeans, black coat, black top, black shoes, black bag) then this scarf will add a bit of colour. I know it’s only a bit of colour and grey itself is a neutral colour, but hey, it’s a start! They also have a range of different colours so I’m sure you’ll find at least one colour to suit your wardrobe palette.

Urban Outfitters ‘Out From Under Charlie Surplice Berry Playsuit’ – £34
Firstly, I really, really like the colour of this! I think I’m really into this whole berry tone trend and taking it way too seriously! This playsuit is under their loungewear section, but I think it’s too pretty and too expensive to only be worn lying around the house, so I might just wear it out anyways. I think it’s great piece for all year round, you could go bare legged in the summer and just add tights in the winter. It does have a deep V neck, which I personally really like, and I wear this on top of a cute bralette so it’s not exposing too much if you get me.

LUSH Snow Fairy Shower Gel – £3.95
As we are gearing up to Christmas (something I’m super excited about!!), LUSH have released their Christmas range, which includes their infamous Snow Fairy Shower Gel. I love this shower gel so much, I buy it every year. It smells like glorious bubblegum – it’s the same scent as their Bubblegum Lip Scrub if you’ve tried that. Some people I know say that it’s too sickeningly sweet, but if you’re a sucker for really sweet smelling scents, then I think you’ll really like this.

Urban Outfitters Calista Lace Black Bralette – £19
Having a smaller chest means that I can get away with wearing cute bralettes. The majority of my friends have, and are blessed with, a bigger chest than myself. But they complain about how I am able to pick up really cute bras and bralettes in practically any shop I go to whereas they have to go to certain stores which cater for the bigger bust. Whilst browsing in Urban Outfitters, I stumbled across this bralette and it was one of those moments where I was like I neeeeeeed that in my life. I personally find bralettes really comfortable, and I think they’re more acceptable to show off under a top or if you have a deeper neck line than a bra?

I also did buy another new coat which I was going to put in this post, but because I really love the coat, (in fact I love all coats), I thought I would perhaps create a new blog post where I style the coat and show you how I would wear it in an outfit.

WHERE ELSE TO FIND ME:
Instagram ➵ http://www.instagram.com/_jessicaybl
Tumblr ➵ http://www.jessicaybl.tumblr.com
Twitter ➵ http://www.twitter.com/_jessicaybl

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I love it all! Good find on the skirt! x

    1. jessicaybl says:

      Ah thanks so much! I know, it was a very good bargain! xx

  2. I love the skirt and the playsuit x

    1. jessicaybl says:

      Me too haha! Thanks for commenting! xx

Leave a Reply

