Why Selfies are important.

“If it’s not on Instagram, it didn’t happen!”

image-6

Selfies are synonymous with narcissistic teenagers. Everywhere you go, I guarantee you’ll see a group of teenage girls, doing a duckface, gathering round taking a selfie. Guilty.

Technology today is bloody marvellous. IMHO, one of the greatest inventions ever is the front face camera. Call me vain, whatever. But, the front camera is a sign of independence. “Do you need me to take a picture of you guys?” “No thanks, I got this!” Uh huh.

The rare times where someone else takes my/our photo, a moment of panic washes over me. It’s like I’ve forgotten how to pose for a picture, I’m no longer in control of my angles, my lighting.

I love taking selfies because there’s no pressure. You’re by yourself or with all your friends and you can retake the picture as many times as you want or needed. I remember this time when my friends and I wanted a group picture, but the woman took a really blurry picture of us. I didn’t want to be rude and be like “Can you take it for me again please?” but at the same time, I didn’t want her to see me ask someone else… Because then she’ll totally know I didn’t like the picture she took. So we were left with a very blurry picture.

More importantly, I truly believe that Selfies are important to teach the idea of self-love. There is a saying floating around somewhere along the lines of “You can’t love someone until you truly love yourself.” or something like that, but you get what I mean. They are an instant confidence booster in almost any situation. Hungover but still look fresh? Selfie. Make up/eyebrows on fleek? Selfie. Procrastinating that essay due in 48 hours? Selfie.

People take selfies because for the majority of the time, at that current time/moment/place, they know they look good. In that state of mind, you’re completely happy and somehow, in that moment, you’ve forgotten about all your insecurities. This is something which should be celebrated. YOU look good and YOU know it. The fact that when you post the selfies, you get comments telling you how good you look (even though they’re from your friends and there’s that unwritten rule where they must like and comment on every photo you upload), will only makes your self esteem rise. It takes a lot of bravery to post a selfie. I don’t know about you, but before I press publish or post, my heart rate does rise, not gonna lie. It’s not because I’m worried about not getting enough likes or comments, but because in a way, you’re putting yourself out there to be judged.

In today’s society, teenage depression and anxiety dominates many of the tabloids, with hundreds of articles all over the place about how teenagers feel this intense scrutiny over their body image/looks. Selfies are a way of teaching someone to love themselves. And remember that it’s always okay to love yourself and you should feel proud of yourself. Becoming confident in yourself is a trait which many people find attractive, and also makes you more employable too.

We need to start teaching girls that confidence is not a sign of vanity, but rather a marker of healthy self-perception and positive thinking.

I say, turn that camera on and start snapping away. Embrace yourself with your selfie.

PS, if you take a group selfie and you’re looking on point, but your friends aren’t feeling the picture or vice versa, just remember – REAL MATES CROP.

X WHERE ELSE TO FIND ME:
YouTube ➵ http://www.youtube.com/lammy1294
Instagram ➵ http://www.instagram.com/_jessicaybl
Tumblr ➵ http://www.jessicaybl.tumblr.com
Twitter ➵ http://www.twitter.com/_jessicaybl

Leave a Reply

